Nitish sweeps Bihar; washout for Lalu


Nitish Kumar is all set to begin his second stint as the Chief Minister of Bihar following the massive victory of the JD(U)-BJP alliance.

Patna: The Janata Dal(United)-Bharatiya Janata Party alliance is headed for the biggest victory ever in the Hindi heartland and is likely to secure an over three-fourth majority In Bihar Assembly elections 2010.

Riding on the development plank and clean image of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, the JD(U)-BJP combine is all set to storm back to power in Bihar and has taken a massive lead over the RJD-LJP combine. Trends for all the 243 are available and at 1.35 PM, the JD(U)-BJP alliance was leading in 200 seats while RJD-LJP combine was ahead in just 27 seats.

The Congress was facing the prospects of its worst result in the state despite Congress President Sonia Gandhi and party General Secretary Rahul Gandhi campaigning extensively in the state. It was leading in just seven seats.

Out of the 21 results declared, the JD(U)-BJP had won 18 seats while the RJD-LJP alliance was just one seat in its kitty. Independent candidates won the other two seats.

The counting started at 8 AM on Wednesday amidst tight security arrangements for all 243 constituencies.


Valmikinagar: Rajesh Singh (JD-U) defeats his nearest rival Deep Narain Mahato by around 14,000 votes.

Nutan: JD(U)’s Manorama Prasad beat Galu Choudhary (CPI) by around 6000 votes.

Bettiah: BJP Minister Renu Devi beats Congress nominee Madan Mohan Tiwari by around 15,000 votes.

Chanpatia: Chandramohan Rai (BJP) beats BSP’s Ejaj Hussain by over 13,000 votes.

Bagha: Prabhat Ranjan Singh JD(U) defeats BSP’s Md Kamran by around 20,000 votes.

Lauria: Vinay Bihari (Independent) beats Pradip Singh (JD-U) by over 5,000 votes.

Asthwana: Jitendra Kumar (JD-I) beats Kapildeo Singh (LJP) by 10,000 votes.

Narkatiaganj: Satish Chandra Dubey (BJP) beats Om Verma (INC) by around 10,000 votes.

Sikta: Dilip Verma (Independent) defeats Fakruddin (Independent) by over 5000 votes.

Raxaul: Ajay Kumar Singh (BJP) beats Rajnanadan Rai (LJP) by around 6,000 votes.

Ramnagar: Bhagirathi Devi (BJP) beats Naresh Ram (Congress) by around 15,000 votes.

Darbhanga Town: Sanjay Saraogi (BJP) beats Sultan Ahmed (RJD).

Nalanda: Shravan Kumar (JD-U) defeats Arun Kumar (RJD).

Rajgir (SC): Satyadeo Narayan Arya (BJP) beats Dhananjay Kumar (LJP).

Biharsharief: Sunil Kumar (JD-U) defeats RJD’s Afrin Sultana.

Sheohar: Md Sarfuddin (JD-U) beats Pratima Devi (BSP).

Islampur: Rajiv Ranjan (JD-U) beats Virendra Gope (RJD).

Harnaut: Harinarayan Singh (JD-U) defeats Arun Kumar Bind (LJP).

In the outgoing House, the ruling parties JD(U) and BJP had 88 and 55 seats respectively. RJD and LJP had 54 and 10 respectively. Congress had nine MLAs.

The half-way mark required for any coalition or party to form a government in the state is 122

[Story Source] [Contest win Rs 1000-100,000 now]

This post was submitted by somya harsh.

--> Thanks to
Related Posts
Team Kumble sweeps KSCA elections

Team Kumble sweeps KSCA elections

Bangalore: Beginning a new era in the Indian cricket administration, former Test captain Anil Kumble was elected as the President of the Karnataka State Cricket Association while former pace duo of Ja...
Rs 30 crore blown by Karnataka ‘flying’ netas

Rs 30 crore blown by Karnataka ‘flying’ netas

BANGALORE: It's no surprise to find helicopters and small aircraft shooting into the sky every time political turmoil hits Karnataka — a frequent occurence in the past six years.This time around, poli...
Nitish, Modi, Lalu seeking votes for criminals

Nitish, Modi, Lalu seeking votes for criminals

Patna: For a state seeking to erase the taint of corruption and lawlessness, this sure is a step backwards. Bihar, which goes to polls beginning Oct 21, will see a host of top politicians campaigning ...
Special assembly session on November to discuss scams: Yeddyurappa

Special assembly session on November to discuss scams: Yeddyurappa

Bangalore: A three-day special session of the Karnataka legislature will be held in the first week of November to discuss all issues, including a series of scams that have been rocking the sta...

Leave a Reply

We will keep You Updated...
Get Free Email Newsletter from VoteUpIndia Sign up for our free email newsletter. (Help?)
Read latest headlines in your favorite news reader
Follow VoteUpIndia  on Twitter Become a VoteUpIndia Fan on Facebook Subscribe to VoteUpIndia in Google Reader Add VoteUpIndia  to My Yahoo Add VoteUpIndia  to Netvibes Subscribe to Free Techie Buzz RSS Feed
Sponsored Links
Join Now !
Featured Video
Best Storytellers
Powered by Authors Widget
Recent Posts

The Amazing Spider Man Wallpaper

Looking for The Amazing Spider Man Wallpaper? Sony Pictures just released a new movie called The...

Woman robs her own home to start beauty parlour

Woman lodges false complaint of robbery, bruises self to make it seem real, blames brother; cops...

Abhishek will take time to recover: Big B

September 14, 2011, (Sawf News) - Abhishek Bachchan sustained minor injuries - a small cut above the...

Imran Khan files suit against drinking age

Actor Imran Khan Wednesday filed a public suit in the Mumbai High Court against raising the age limit...

Rakhi eyes Baba’s virginity!

Mumbai: The tale of baba and the babe seems to be getting spicier by the day. Impolite it may appear...
Recent Comments
i think it helps relationship because you can talk to that person though the internet
i really luv especially when rehan goes 80 yrs back and discussion in meera and rehan .also story of meera is really sensitive .i lo
i really luv this movie i luv it best excellent, fabolous ever i watched .tia bajpayee is really darling in her first looks in scene
Try to post good n interesting news ..... v dnt published any spam !!
i am submiting your site link plz post my site link
Tag Cloud